SO…ITS NOT MY PREROGATIVE???

Have you ever known a person who is so desperate for your attention that they actually try to tell you how to run certain areas in your life?

If your answer is no, GOD BLESS YOU!
If your answer is yes, I think you’ll relate to this little diddy!

Facebook. One of the most controversial websites known to man. It can rekindle relationships and tear them apart all at the same time. One of the things that annoys me the most me about this website, is the overwhelming need for “friends”. It completely baffles me how many requests I get from people that I never talked to in school or at church, or any other walk of life; yet they constantly send me requests for my friendship. I don’t believe this is because they are in need of relationship with me. I mean, come on, I’ve seen you (not talked to you) two times in life and just because you remember my face that means we’re supposed to be friends? Yeah, right! Tell it to the time turtle honey, because I don’t have it! Even in this truth, there are some who actually get off on the numbers.

I only have a handful of friends, and this list gets cut on a regular basis. Sometimes people carry too much drama. It’s also impossible to read the lies people post especially when you know the truth.

Anyway-

I was casually browsing the book one afternoon when a message popped up from an “old friend”. My initial reaction was to just ignore it. I closed it out and proceeded to scroll when the same person sent another message. I closed it a second time and the person sent a third message. By this time I’m annoyed. What could she possibly want? I deleted her months ago!

Just as I started to open this series of messages, the infamous friend request notification greeted me with a condescending smile. I clicked here first, against my better judgment and what to my wondering eyes did appear???? A FRIEND REQUEST FROM THE SAME GIRL!!!! What in the whole world was happening???

I decline the request and opened the messages.

Message 1: She wanted to know why I had turned down her request for us to be friends.
(I’m sorry, I thought that was my right. Clearly, I was mistaken.)

Message 2: Apparently, she and I were the closest of friends, and by not accepting this request, I caused her tremendous pain. (Funny, I don’t recall this message coming from Melinda, Shannon, Frannie, or Patrice. These are my closest friends and each of their profiles are sitting cozy in my friends list.)

Message 3: She stressed the fact that she considered me a sister and she needed understanding. (Understanding of what??? I have four sisters and don’t need anymore. And when was I supposed to know about this sisterhood? We knew each other long ago when we were in middle school. And let’s face it, how close could two girls be in middle school? Seriously, girls changed friends like they changed socks, and from my memory bank, she was horrible to me!!!)

Needless to say, none of the messages were answered. I believe this was all the answer she needed. It is my business, and has always been my business to not be friends with someone, especially when it comes to social media. I mean, seriously, it’s social media! Yes I’m into it, but it in no way, shape, or form, controls my life and there is no one I feel the need to stalk or bully or harass into looking at my pictures and reading my posts. WAKE UP PEOPLE!!!! There are more important things in life besides unanswered Facebook friend requests.

PSA: If you or someone you love has fallen victim to this Facebook Stalking Syndrome, I encourage you to call 1800-GET-A-LIFE. Operators are standing by. Call today, you’ll be glad you did!

Leave a Reply

